Why Even Try To Understand God?

The Bible tells us all who call upon Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior shall be saved. Why is this so hard for people to do? Why do people constantly reject the gospel and Jesus? Why don’t people just give God a chance? I think it comes down to two separate main issues—unbelief and misunderstanding.

I get the fact that people misunderstand God. This is expected for us to misunderstand God. What I don’t think people are realizing is the fact that it is impossible for us to ever fully understand God. People think that we should be able to intellectually explain God but this is not possible. Often when people say they doubt God I think rather than doubting God’s existence they are actually doubting their intellectual understanding of God. We say how can there be a God if there is evil in the world? Where was God in this evil event? I say: who are we to try and understand God? In human comparison we would be but a pebble to God or a measly ant. How could we even think we have the capacity or mind power to understand a God that has created the entire universe? And of course there would be no perspective of good and evil if evil did not exist. We would not know of good if there were no such thing as bad. We have a moral law inside all of us that has always been there that says we ought to look out for others above ourselves but we instinctively want to watch out for ourselves. We have a moral law that says we ought to behave a certain way but we never completely follow it. Where does this law come from? Why do we say you should not be selfish? This morality would not come from survival instinct because unless it was directly benefiting us or our family, by instinct we would not care what happened to anyone else. But yet we do care. I think it comes from a law giver, from an ultimate good that is God. Where is God when evil strikes? I say God is in the victims and he is in the ones who have compassion to act and to risk their lives to stop it. God is in the compassion of people because he gives us the gift of compassion. God places people in the paths of evil to help our brothers in pain.

We cannot expect God to be constantly disrupting life by divinely stopping the actions that are consequences of people’s decisions and outcomes of the situations they have put themselves in. We would agree that yes sometimes God will reach down and stop an event from happening but more often than not God let’s life take its course. Evil does exist in this world and because of that there is consequences and bad things do sometimes happen to good people.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” (Proverbs 3:5)

In other words don’t hang on to some bad intellectual understanding of God that can never be fully accurate because of our finite minds in comparison to God. Christians always talk about finding true peace by surrendering ourselves fully to God. This is very hard because it’s our human nature to try and figure things out and to always be right. But the fact is that we will never fully understand God and we are not meant to. We are meant to trust Him and to have faith.

“Be still and know that I am God!” (Psalm 46:10)

It is in the stillness that we can find peace; when we finally accept the fact that we will never know everything. This is where we find God. Acceptance of the fact that there is much we do not know and never will is the first step to wisdom. This is where I think the intellectual man can be led to the conclusion that God does exist.

Jesus said “I am leaving you with a gift, peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” (John 14:27)

I struggle with fully surrendering to God (as most Christians I think do) because I am wired to try and figure everything out, but one thing I do know is there is a fulfillment in Christ that I have never experienced in any other way. There is a great peace and joy that comes with knowing Jesus and it all starts with God’s love.

Now on to the next excuse I mentioned for refusal to surrender which would be unbelief. Ask yourself is there any chance that God might exist? If you say “no” then you have more faith than I do in your religion of atheism, and I do not think someone that sincerely answered no to that question would have read this blog up to this point. So let’s say that you do agree with most of the population of the earth that there is a chance of God’s existence. If there is a chance then don’t you think it would be of your best interest to give this God a chance? You could be missing the most important opportunity of your life. I am very thankful for my salvation in Christ and knowing that I have a place to spend eternity where there is no evil and only ultimate good! Please give God a chance.

“For he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care. Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts.” (Psalm 95: 7-8)

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

7 thoughts on “Why Even Try To Understand God?

  1. informationforager

    I like this because it’s an honest post. A lot of people just go along to get along, not you. You want answers……so do I. My path has taken me in different directions and so I am mostly an ostrezied believer in God. I make up my mind that I’m going to believe what I think is right no matter what. Keep Blogging. Keep Writing. Thanks for being yourself.

    Reply
  2. disciplegideon

    I really enjoyed your post. You have a unique voice and approach this subject matter with an honesty that is revealing and refreshing. Keep up the good work and God bless! Continue to “live out loud”…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Is The Bible The First Science Book? « iwanttobelieveingod

  4. Pingback: Is The Bible The First Science Book? « iwanttobelieveingod

  5. Pingback: Why the name for this blog? | iwanttobelieveingod

Leave a Reply

