Lest You Forget!

“Only take heed to yourself, and diligently keep yourself, lest you forget the things your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life. And teach them to your children and your grandchildren.” (Deut 4:9)

In my last post I wrote about how when God feels distant He is in fact near. It’s very easy to look around in the world we are in and feel as if God is nowhere to be found. There’s so much suffering and evil that we say “where is God?” Our feelings make us angry and we start to blame God for our situations and we then start to doubt His existence. Our feelings will often lead us to make bad decisions. We cannot trust our feelings but we can trust God! God has placed us in these situations to help. We are to be the light of the world. The compassion you feel in your heart for the suffering of man is a gift from God and is in fact the compassion He shares with you. Act on it! Do not let your feelings distract you from carrying out God’s will. Do not let your feelings tell you God is not there for this is a lie! Satan would love nothing more than to blind you by his own corruption of man into thinking God does not exist.

“I cry out to God; yes, I shout.
Oh, that God would listen to me!
When I was in deep trouble,
I searched for the Lord.
All night long I prayed, with hands lifted toward heaven,
but my soul was not comforted.
I think of God, and I moan,
overwhelmed with longing for his help.
You don’t let me sleep.
I am too distressed even to pray!
I think of the good old days,
long since ended,
when my nights were filled with joyful songs.
I search my soul and ponder the difference now.
Has the Lord rejected me forever?
Will he never again be kind to me?
Is his unfailing love gone forever?
Have his promises permanently failed?
Has God forgotten to be gracious?
Has he slammed the door on his compassion?
And I said, “This is my fate; the Most High has turned his hand against me. ”

(Psalm 77:1-9)

When I read this psalm I cannot help but think about the state of our own country and the fact that so many people reject God’s existence because of suffering. Has God forgotten to be gracious? Have His promises failed us? Has He forgotten us? This is not the case at all! The problem lies in the fact that so many of us have forgotten God. We live in what many have called a post-Christian country. We are in the midst of postmodernism where anything goes and nobody is sure of any truth. You could say this is good in the sense that people are shying away from the ridiculous idea that science disproves God and are realizing that we will never be able to objectively prove the cause of our existence through scientific studies. The problem is people have gone the same way in a spiritual sense. Anything goes now and pluralism is all the rage. People are making up their own religions left and right. All paths lead to the same place right? I will only partially agree with that statement and say that all paths lead to the same God. All paths lead to the one true God—Yahweh the God of Israel and our Lord Jesus Christ! Psalm 77 continues to say:

“But then I recall all you have done, O Lord;
I remember your wonderful deeds of long ago.
They are constantly in my thoughts.
I cannot stop thinking about your mighty works. O God, your ways are holy.
Is there any god as mighty as you?
You are the God of great wonders!
You demonstrate your awesome power among the nations.
By your strong arm, you redeemed your people,
the descendants of Jacob and Joseph.”

(Psalm 77:13-15)

God led the Israelites out of slavery in Egypt and how soon they forgot Him. While Moses was up on the mountain for 40 days getting the Ten Commandments from God the Israelites became impatient and insisted on making up a different god to lead them. They took their own possessions of gold rings and melted them down to form a gold calf to worship as their new god. They had forgotten what God did for them and began to worship their own material possessions.

Why is it we humans insist on learning from our own mistakes rather than learning from the mistakes of others? Look at our countries current state. We are a country that was founded and created off of Christianity. Our country thrived and grew into a great nation! Have we now forgotten what God did for us? Have we began to worship our own possessions as the Israelites did?

The Christmas season is upon us and many employees of corporations can only say “happy holidays” because that’s considered politically correct. What happened to freedom of speech and freedom of religion? Statistics say 95% of Americans celebrate Christmas so where is this oppression of using the term “Merry Christmas” coming from? Has Christmas been transformed into a non-Christian holiday that is only about getting gifts? Have we forgotten God? Have our parents failed to teach us? Have you failed to teach your children? It’s not too late. Tell someone of the good news of Jesus Christ this “holiday season.” Remember that Jesus Christ, the Son of God was sent to earth and died for the sake of you and I. He suffered and paid the price so that we might be saved. Remember Jesus this year. There’s only one reason for the season! Join me in putting the Christ back in Christmas. Join me in saying Merry Christmas everyone!

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

4 thoughts on “Lest You Forget!

Leave a Reply

