Who Really Knows?

Ever since I was a young boy I have gazed up at the stars time and time again with amazement. The site of a clear sky at night is so beautiful. It is something I don’t think any human could live their life without recognizing. With technology we have been able to learn more about the universe and the stars. We learn how big the universe is and it leaves us feeling quite small in comparison. We learn of millions of stars, other planets and galaxies. From what we know we could conclude that the universe is endless right? How could it have an end? Would the stars just stop somewhere and become nothingness? It’s very easy to have your breath taken away by what we know and even more by what we don’t know about the universe. People are often stopped in their tracks while gazing at the sky and say: “Wow, who knows?” We are but a speck in the universe right? Or are we more?

“The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The Skies display his craftsmanship. Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known. They speak without a sound or word; their voice is never heard. Yet their message has gone throughout the earth, and their words to all the world…” (Psalm 19:1-4)

The book of Genesis tells us the earth was created three days prior to the sun, moon and stars. The stars were created to provide the earth a calendar system (Gen1:14) and perhaps even more importantly to reflect the glory of God to man (Psalm 19, Rom1:20). When I look at the stars and reflect on how big our universe is I think wow that’s God! Think about it; what could reflect an infinite, all powerful being like God more than a limitless, never ending universe? God would never limit the universe because He himself is limitless. The more we study the universe the more we realize how many little precise circumstances had to come together to make life possible. The stars, the universe and the complexity of life in itself make me wonder how anyone could ever say we are here by mere chance. How can someone believe that all this just popped into existence with no cause? Even when I was not a Christian I could never honestly call myself an atheist because of this reason. I cannot accept the belief that we are an accident. Life is far too complex and perfectly engineered to have just happened.

When people look up in the stars and say “there’s no way we are alone” they’re right! We’re not alone. We are with God and every time we look at the sky, or mountains, or a new born baby we are seeing the glory of His creation. Watch the video below and then tell me it’s all an accident.

We’re not an accident. We are not alone. Who really knows? God knows and He speaks. The Lord says:

“Who is this that questions my wisdom
with such ignorant words?
Brace yourself like a man,
because I have some questions for you,
and you must answer them.

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?
Tell me, if you know so much.
Who determined its dimensions
and stretched out the surveying line?
What supports its foundations,
and who laid its cornerstone
as the morning stars sang together
and all the angels shouted for joy?

“Who kept the sea inside its boundaries
as it burst from the womb,
and as I clothed it with clouds
and wrapped it in thick darkness?
For I locked it behind barred gates,
limiting its shores.
I said, ‘This far and no farther will you come.
Here your proud waves must stop!’

“Have you ever commanded the morning to appear
and caused the dawn to rise in the east?
Have you made daylight spread to the ends of the earth,
to bring an end to the night’s wickedness?
As the light approaches,
the earth takes shape like clay pressed beneath a seal;
it is robed in brilliant colors.
The light disturbs the wicked
and stops the arm that is raised in violence.

“Have you explored the springs from which the seas come?
Have you explored their depths?
Do you know where the gates of death are located?
Have you seen the gates of utter gloom?
Do you realize the extent of the earth?
Tell me about it if you know!

(Job 38:2-18)

I’ll be the first to admit I do not have all the answers. There are a lot of things we don’t know or understand but God does! So many men act like we know it all just because we’ve studied science. The study of the creation does not disprove the creator.

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.” (Psalm 118:8)

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

(to read more on why we can trust the Bible to be God’s word from a scientific standpoint read my blog: “Is The Bible The First Science Book” http://iwanttobelieveingod.com/2011/11/25/is-the-bible-the-first-science-book/)

6 thoughts on “Who Really Knows?

  1. Cindy

    Agreed … GREAT scriptures from Job. I still remember the very first time I ever read those particular words–they impacted me powerfully and still do!

    Reply
  2. johnconstitution

    At lunch today, I was looking up at the trees and the sky and contemplating very much along the lines of your post, which was excellent, by the way!

    I was thinking about the fact that every tree is a unique creation, every plant and every animal too. Not to mention people.

    If evolution were fact, what could possibly be the point of having over 6 billion completely unique human beings? What would be the point? What’s the point of having perhaps hundreds of billions (if not more) unique trees? Or horses? Or birds?

    There is only one reason that makes any sense at all to me, and that is, to show forth the glory of our infinite God!

    Reply
    1. iwanttobelieveingod Post author

      Thanks for reading John! I’ve always been a big nature guy. It blows my mind everyday. I went to Sea World about two months ago and got a new perspective on the creativity of God seeing all the different sea animal species. Isn’t our God amazing?!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Why the name for this blog? | iwanttobelieveingod

Leave a Reply

