Life Is What You Make of It: It’s Your Choice

Every day in life we face choices. We are all human and are all capable of making our own decisions no matter how old. From the minute we wake up in the morning to when we lay our heads down at night, our entire day evolves around us making decisions. We make decisions on what to eat, when to get out of bed, when to be productive and when to be lazy. We decide who we will spend our time with and how we will spend our time. I love the saying “life is what you make of it” because in a big way this is true. A lot of things happen in life that are completely out of our control but we have a choice on how we react to these situations. I’m sure you would agree that the choices you’ve made in the past have had a great impact on where you are in life today and that our choices will continue to have an impact on where we end up.

In Matthew chapter 4 we read of Jesus walking along the Sea of Galilee when he saw two men fishing. Jesus said to them “Come follow me and I will show you how to fish for people!” These two men—Peter and Andrew—were faced with a choice. They fished for a living so they were basically in the middle of work here when a man they’ve never met before walks by and tells them to follow him. I like to think about what I would do in their situation. What would you do if you were in the middle of work and a stranger walks by telling you to follow him because he wants to teach you to fish for men? I would definitely be intrigued and curious but I don’t know if I would follow. I honestly would probably ignore the man. It would most likely depend on a lot of circumstances such as how busy I was, his appearance and just what mood I was in. That day Peter and Andrew made a choice that would change their lives forever. The Bible tells us they left their nets at once and followed Jesus.

What was it that led them to make this choice to follow Jesus? Maybe they could sense something good in Jesus? Perhaps they were bored with their everyday lives and had a feeling inside that there was something more, or perhaps it was just their own curiosity. I believe they could sense something right in Jesus. I believe it was a spiritual choice and something in them told them it was the right decision. I believe they could sense the truth in Jesus and they knew this is what they had been waiting for. I believe they felt this way because that is how I felt when I was called to follow Jesus. When I was offered the choice to follow I just went for it. I didn’t stop and break it down intellectually. I didn’t say, “Give me a day or two to think about it.” I felt that it was right and I made the choice to follow. My life has never been the same since.

Now later in my walk with Jesus I realize the decision to follow was not a one time thing. Everyday I wake up and have the choice if I’m going to follow Jesus today or not. We cannot just get “saved” at a Harvest Crusade and then pop right back into our old ways. This is not following Jesus. This is not what we were called to do!

Jesus said: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.” (Luke 9:23-24)

Everyday we face choices. Today I choose to follow Him. Today I say: I am yours Lord! Today I seek a closer relationship with Jesus and pray that my passion would only grow by tomorrow because tomorrow I will be faced with the same choice—to follow Jesus or to follow myself.

“He died for everyone so that those who receive his new life will no longer live for themselves. Instead, they will live for Christ, who died and was raised for them. So we have stopped evaluating others from a human point of view. At one time we thought of Christ merely from a human point of view. How differently do we know him now! This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” (2 Corinthians 5:15-17)

Who do you choose to follow today?

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

3 thoughts on “Life Is What You Make of It: It’s Your Choice

  1. john Dulleck

    As for me and my house, we will follow the Lord!

    Good post, with a probing question. You’re right, following Jesus is a daily choice, and sometimes it s a choice made far more often. For instance, when we are drawn into temptation by our fleshly lusts, do we indulge those lusts, even for a little while, or do we turn from them and turn to Jesus?

    Reply
  2. Yvette Hernandez

    Life Is What You Make It to a certain extent, but all things are possible with God! We can not do it alone….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

