An Honest Search for Truth

Hello there 2012! So, my last post of 2011 was about lying and I figured what better way to start off the New Year than to write a post about truth. What is truth? Do any of us know the truth? What does truth mean to you? Jesus said: “I am the way, the truth and the life.” Do you believe this or do you think He was lying?

Here’s some truth about me: I believe the words of Jesus. I believe Jesus was telling the truth. I believe all truth to our existence can be found in Jesus Christ. I believe the truth can set you free and bring peace, joy, hope and love to your life. I believe in God and I believe our life is more than an accident. I believe the universe was created and not just an outcome of something coming from nothing. I believe that the creator of the universe is not silent and has revealed Himself to us again and again, but has only shown enough of Himself so that it is left up to us to seek or reject.

Here’s some more truth: Nobody can honestly disprove God. Studying the creation does not disprove the creator. I have felt the presence of God and nobody can honestly tell me I have not simply because they have not felt the presence themselves. Some of the most brilliant men in the world will tell you that the more we learn, the more we realize what we don’t know. Scientists have barely tapped into understanding the miracle of life but yet so many men will claim with certainty that there is no God. Scientists can’t even figure out where the moon came from but yet men claim science and logic disproves a creator. It doesn’t make sense to me. I will be the first to admit that I do not know everything. Actually I will go even further and say that with all there is to know about life, I barely know anything. But… I do know Jesus Christ and I have a spiritual relationship with him. You can choose to believe me or you may choose not to, and in turn call me a liar or delusional. But I promise you I’m not lying and I’m not crazy.

Jesus said “seek and you will find.” He was not lying. I chose to seek and I did find. What did I find you may ask? I found truth. I found life. I found hope. I found joy. I found peace. I found love. God wants a relationship with you and it is up to you to take a step of faith to initiate this relationship. God has not only told us “seek and you will find” but also “you will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” The key part is “with all your heart.” If you do not truly seek with an open heart but instead go on a half-hearted spiritual search you may very well not find anything at all. You may find yourself right back where you started saying: “There’s no God.” There isn’t? Really? Prove it. You may honestly believe that God does not exist, but if that is you then I don’t think you have ever truthfully searched. You owe it to yourself to do an honest search. Don’t do it for me. Do it for yourself. There’s still time. God is here. There’s more to life than just lusts for possessions, sex and power but you have to be willing to give up your fleshly desires and truly seek to find it. You have to be willing to give up your life to find life. You have to be an optimist. If you have only set out to disprove God then you have never truly searched at all.

God says:

“Look to Me, and be saved, all you ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other.”

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

5 thoughts on “An Honest Search for Truth

  1. the warrioress

    Sometimes I think God allows us to break simply so that we can see the truth of the fact that we need Him. When we are at our lowest, we are at our most humble and are sometimes willing to reach out and call upon the name of the Lord. And he WILL answer us.

    Bravo.. great blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

