It’s not a phase, it’s who I am!

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” –E. E. Cummings

We constantly hear people talking about “finding themselves.”  What do they mean by this?  By claiming that they want to find themselves I would say that they are first admitting they are lost.  If they are lost then what do they expect to find and how would you search for it?  With me it’s very simple.  I once was lost but now am found.  It wasn’t that I found God but more that I finally answered His call.  It wasn’t that I set out on this great search to find myself but more that I finally surrendered to what my heart already knew to be truth.  My decision to follow Christ is not a phase.  This is not something I will grow out of.  This is who I am.  This is what completes me.  This is what I was born to be.  I am a child of God. 

I was called by the Lord many years ago when I was a teenager.  I felt His presence and got to know Him some, but with growing up I quickly fell away from the faith and pursued selfish interests.  I now look back and realize that pursuing “dreams” was not who I was.  Pursuing fame, success and money was not who I was—it was the farthest from it actually.  Life had its ups and downs but even in the ups I never felt fulfilled.  There was a longing in me for more.  My heart knew there was more but my mind refused to accept God because of the secular view the world had instilled on me. 

“Let no one deceive himself. If anyone among you seems to be wise in this age, let him become a fool that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolish-ness with God. For it is written, ‘He catches the wise in their own craftiness’ and again, ‘The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise and they are futile.”  (1 Corinthians 3:18-20)

“But I fear, lest somehow, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, so your minds may be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.” (2 Corinthians 11:3)

Scientific theories like The Big Bang and Darwinism do not explain the miracle of our existence at all.  Belief in God does.  God has revealed Himself to me through His presence.  Jesus said “Behold I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him…” Jesus Christ is Lord and if you are courageous enough to grow up and become who you really are then take a step of faith!  Through faith God will reveal Himself.  Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.”  Jesus said, “Seek and you will find.”

I know there are some reading this who the Lord has called but they have decided—like myself in earlier life—to pursue other interests.  Let me save you some searching time and tell you this: Worldly interests will not bring you peace.  The world will not bring you your heart’s desires.  Your heart has heard the Lord and the Lord is at the door patiently waiting for you to answer.  So answer it and come home!  There’s no need to wander in the hills by yourself anymore.  Just come home.   Stop listening to man and listen to God.   This is who you are.

“Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:3-4)

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

3 thoughts on “It’s not a phase, it’s who I am!

  1. Steven Sawyer

    Excellent Post! Truth. God’s Truth. We will either answer His call and spend eternity with Him or we will wind up in outer darkness totally separated from God forever. I shudder to think about what weeping and gnashing of teeth sound like. I’m so grateful God pursued me and I’ll never hear those sounds. Ever. Thank you for your post..

    Reply
  2. Steven Sawyer

    Reblogged this on Stevesaw's Blog and commented:
    “Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:3-4)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Resources for 1 Corinthians 3:18 - 20

Leave a Reply

