The Endless Cycle of Hopelessness

“Men are in a restless pursuit after satisfaction in earthly things. They will exhaust themselves in the deceitful delights of sin, and, finding them all to be vanity and emptiness, they will become very perplexed and disappointed. But they will continue their fruitless search. Though wearied, they still stagger forward under the influence of spiritual madness, and though there is no result to be reached except that of everlasting disappointment, yet they press forward. They have no forethought for their eternal state; the present hour absorbs them. They turn to another and another of earth’s broken cisterns, hoping to find water where not a drop was ever discovered yet.” –Charles Spurgeon

This is an amazing quote that describes the lusts and desires of men all over the world.  Men constantly spend their whole lives working for money, pleasures and possessions but never find fulfillment.  They keep searching and searching trying to satisfy their flesh with temporary pleasures that soon go away and leave them looking for the next fix.  It is a ball and chain that bonds men to self-gratifying desires and leaves them thirsty like drinking salt water.  Life really is vanity without God, an endless cycle of hopelessness. 

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
   come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
   come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
   without money and without cost.
 Why spend money on what is not bread,
   and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
   and you will delight in the richest of fare.
Give ear and come to me;
   listen, that you may live.
I will make an everlasting covenant with you,
   my faithful love promised to David.”

-Isaiah 55:1-3 

Jesus said, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. He who believes in me as the scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” 

The world will let you down. The world will not fulfill the desires of our hearts. CS Lewis said, “If I discover within myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”  Our hearts long for a connection with God.  Until you make this connection fulfillment will not be found.  I spent years of my life chasing dreams, success, lusts, pleasures and money.  It gets you nowhere.  There is rest found in Christ.  Praise the Lord for I saw the light! 

“Seek the Lord while He may be found, call upon Him while He is near.” –Isaiah 55:6 

“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” –Psalm 37:4 

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

4 thoughts on “The Endless Cycle of Hopelessness

  1. Mark of Faith

    Great message! I am a believer and I think this message of yours is a great witness. Even though I already believe, I found great encouragement in this post nonetheless.

    Be encouraged brother/sister!

    Reply
  2. Steven Sawyer

    I’m thrilled that those days of living in my flesh are behind me. I remember those dark days and nights chasing the things that never satisfy, leaving me empty. Praise God my Heavenly Father lets prodigals come home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

