Get Out of the Cell!

For God did not call us to uncleanness, but in holiness.  Therefore he who rejects this does not reject man, but God, who has also given us His Holy Spirit.  (1 Thessalonians 4:7-8)

For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. (Romans 8:13)

Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. (Galatians 5:16)

Jesus answered them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed. (John 8:34-36)

Christ has opened the jail cell door so go out and be free.  Why stay in the cell? There is no room for darkness in our lives when Christ dwells in us, and we in Christ.  It is no longer just “you.”  It is a “we” now as Christ is with you.  If you try to sanctify yourself you will fail.  It’s time to rely on the power of Christ in you to remove that sin that has been keeping you in the cell.  You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you and it is only this way that victory will be found.  All glory must go to God.  

 If indeed you have heard Him and have been taught by Him, as the truth is in Jesus: that you put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4:21-24)

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. (Romans 12:2)

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. (Romans 8:5)

It’s time to walk in the Spirit.  It’s time to leave the jail cell.  It’s time to bring darkness to light. It is time for a new season in Christ!  All glory to God forever!

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

6 thoughts on “Get Out of the Cell!

  1. the warrioress

    I agree with the premise of your blog, but am not sure that I can agree that we will miraculously be sin-free once saved and never, ever sin again; I think this is a misinterpretation of scripture and may lead a lot of Christians into shame and denigration of themselves when they fail and continue to have to struggle with sin in their lives. I’m not talking about continually sinning the same sin without remorse either as I do think this can be mastered, but to suggest that we will never sin again once we are saved (as some have portrayed) is erroneous and I can’t agree with this.

    Reply
  2. iwanttobelieveingod Post author

    I never meant to give the impression of being “sin-free” but that we can and will overcome specific repetitive sins that cause darkness in our lives and hold people in bondage when we seek to overcome through Christ to glorify God–and not by our own self will. Sanctification is a continual life process and not something that we can achieve perfection in or become sinless at one point.

    “I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.

    Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” – Phil 3:10-13

    Reply
  3. the warrioress

    So relieved to see you clarify this….

    It seems that there are some Christians who firmly believe that we should be perfect as Jesus was, now, while living on this earth, and I’m just not sure this is reasonable, even for the most devout. Thanks so much for the clarification.

    Reply
  4. Diana

    Christ can do for us what we cannot do for ourselves. Great post and keep blogging the word.

    afragileclayjarwithatreasureinside.blogspot.com

    Reply
  5. Fabiola

    I often believe that I have been such a dinappointmest. But, know that when God sees me he sees Jesus. But, here is what I often think about. If God sees Jesus who died for all of our sins, what does Jesus see when he looks down on earth. I try so very hard to be a good person and when I try really hard, I fail. But, when I run to Jesus to say I am sorry, he holds out his arms takes me into a tight hug and tells me it is okay. Go try again but, let me help you. Each day is better than the day before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

