Staggering Steps of Dependence

The sludge of the world can entrap one’s feet so quickly. One wrong turn and we find ourselves buried up to our knees. I ask the question, “Why? Why Lord have I fallen in this trap? Why didn’t you stop me?”

He replies, “Because my child, your feet will grow stronger as you fight your way out.”

“My feet? I must have heard you wrong Lord. My feet need to grow stronger? What about my legs, my heart, my knowledge, my wisdom?”

“Your feet carry you and guide you down my path. Your feet must be strengthened to persevere.”

So I move forward with staggering steps of dependence. A heart prone to wander, but eyes fixed on one thing and one thing alone—Christ my Savior!

It is God who arms me with strength,
And makes my way perfect.
He makes my feet like the feet of deer,
And sets me on my high places.
He teaches my hands to make war,
So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

You have also given me the shield of Your salvation;
Your right hand has held me up,
Your gentleness has made me great.
You enlarged my path under me,
So my feet did not slip.

-Psalm 18:32-36

;

3 thoughts on “Staggering Steps of Dependence

Leave a Reply

