To Die is Gain

We do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. -2 Corinthians 4:18

There’s a popular song that says, “Everybody wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die.” I was listening to this song the other day and thought to myself, “Is that the case for me?” Of course everyone wants to go to heaven but perhaps the more accurate thought by many would be, “If there is a heaven I hope I go there.” I think one of the reasons so many are afraid to die is uncertainty. Death is something every human being faces. It can appear very scary to some. The thought of no longer existing is terrifying and quite absurd to be honest. If we die and become as nothing then our entire life has lost any meaning. Your actions and impact on earth may live on and your life may have meaning to those that still exist, but any meaning that your life holds to you personally will be lost forever if we simply go into a state of inexistence. Isn’t that the most absurd thought? We work our whole lives gaining knowledge, love, experiences, impacting others—some positively and some negatively—and all just to die? Its chaos and makes no sense. No wonder we have a depression epidemic.

Contemplating the lyric to that song has made me think of my own life and my own thoughts towards death. I’ve realized there is some truth to this saying in my life. I don’t want to die, but it’s not because of uncertainty. I am not afraid of death. I can honestly tell you that death has lost its sting. If the Lord chose to take me today then that would be great—for me. It would not however be good for my wife, mother, sister, brothers and friends who would grieve my death. It would also not be good because I hope to be used more by God, and if I were to die today then the only true meaning and purpose that could be accomplished through my life on earth would be over. So for these reasons I do not want to die but I do look forward to the day when I can be with the Lord.

For we who are in this tent groan, being burdened, not because we want to be unclothed, but further clothed, that mortality may be swallowed up by life. Now He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who also has given us the Spirit as a guarantee. -2 Corinthians 5:4-5

It is not my time yet and I know this because the Lord has given me prophetic dreams and visions of the future. So I excitedly await these times, but patiently remain in the current season diligently seeking the Lord, and trying my best to learn what He is teaching me. I did not post in the last ten days or so because I have just been enjoying His rest. It’s been somewhat of a vacation from my analytical mind the Lord has blessed me with. It’s been nice. I actually felt normal for a week or so… (if there is any such thing as normal?) I have been learning to live in grace. To live in grace does not mean life is a continual mountain top spiritual experience, it means we have Jesus to take up our yoke with us. He offers help and peace in those anxious life moments—including our failures. I feel that I have been finding balance in my spiritual life. I am however aware to be cautious of complacency and so…

I ask again, I seek again, I knock again.

Lord you are so good words cannot describe. I ask today Father, please give us a taste of heaven so we can be revived and rejuvenated to go out and live your will for our lives. I pray for any reading that you would bring them into your peace and rest, that death would lose it’s sting and they might truly put on the heavenly mindset of “to live is Christ and to die is gain.” May your kingdom come and your will be done in Jesus name.

3 thoughts on “To Die is Gain

  1. Pingback: Finding Hope in a Time of Uncertainty | Social Behavioral Patterns–How to Understand Culture and Behaviors

  2. Pingback: The Top 10 Regrets In Life By Those About To Die « VeehCirra

Leave a Reply

