God is Bigger Than That

Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth. –Matthew 5:5

I’ve realized that sometimes I pack God into a box, a little box that fits with my way of thinking and understanding.  The problem is God is bigger than that box and He’s bigger than the box you put Him in as well.  It’s a tiring pattern—trying to understand God and then continuously not understanding why things happen the way they do.  I say, “Wait God, this isn’t what the instructions on my box said.”  I read a blog about a man who walked away from the faith because of a bad church planting project…  We are such selfish creatures.  We expect our faith to be a “get out of jail free card” or “insurance against the world’s problems.”  We have a bad day and suddenly it’s God’s fault for not fixing whatever the issue was.  I’m throwing away my box because God is bigger than that—much bigger!  Although there are a lot of things I don’t understand about God, here are a few things I do:

God is more intelligent than I am

God is more loving than I am

God is more compassionate than I am

God is more caring than I am

God is more just than I am

God is more merciful than I am

God is more righteous than I am

God is bigger than I am

5 thoughts on “God is Bigger Than That

  1. Cindy Powell

    Amen. God is always good (better than we know!) but He will also always be “the Mystery behind the veil.” So important to guard our hearts against offense–especially offense with God. I love that Jesus said, “And blessed is he who is not offended because of Me.”

    Glad you found some time to write. Love this–great message!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: sixbrownbears

  3. Pingback: God moves! | The Great Tribulation is Coming

  4. Pingback: Blessed are the… « sixbrownbears

Leave a Reply

