Without Jesus I can do nothing…

“The Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do…” –John 5:19

These words of Jesus are the perfect example of the biblical meekness and humility that God is calling us to in our relationship with Him.

Jesus said He can do NOTHING of Himself without the Father!

He then later told the disciples this:

I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. –John 15:5

I’m realizing that throughout my life I have done a lot of nothing! I have set out to do many things without God and though some of these things may be viewed as earthly successes none of them brought my life fulfillment. I walked without the Lord for over ten years of my adult life trying to accomplish “things” and pursuing dreams. You know what would happen after I reached a dream? I felt completely lost. It drove me to depression. Dreams of success by the world’s standards did not bring me one ounce of fulfillment.

After dedicating my life to the Lord things started to make more sense. The void I always felt was lifted and life had meaning to it for the first time since being a child. I’ve been realizing something lately though; I still do many things without God. I try to conquer sin without God, I try to minister without God, sometimes I even try to pray without God. I’m throwing in the towel on my self-efforts of “accomplishing God’s will.” We don’t accomplish God’s will; God does His will through us as He so chooses!

I have to pray more and ask the Helper (Holy Spirit) to help me more. I need more help than I thought. I need more God than I thought.

Without God many things are impossible. Without God I am depressed and hopeless. Without God I am a prisoner. Without God life is meaningless.

But…

With God all things are possible! (Matt 19:26)

With God I am filled with hope and joy! (Romans 15:13)

With God I am set free! (2 Cor 3:17)

With God I have purpose! (Jer 29:11)

Jesus said, “Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth.”

I always found this verse interesting because a truly meek person doesn’t want the earth, but that’s how God works. He raises up the humble and through them accomplishes exceedingly and abundantly more than we could ask or think. Let God’s love and presence completely over power you and consume your life. Ask God to ignite a spark in you that will develop into a full fire of passion for more of Him.

God is all I want.

17 thoughts on “Without Jesus I can do nothing…

  1. robin claire

    You sound just like I think. I think we are truly on the same page when it come to our faith. I KNOW I can not do anything I do – especially to love – without God, Jesus, & the Holy Spirit doing it through me. I’m sober for 32 years and I own ALL of it to the God I met through Christ.

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      I’m so glad we have met Robin! It’s always pleasure and encouraging to meet others that I relate to. And praise God for your 32 years of sobriety! That is a big encouragement as I am a recovering alcoholic myself.

      Reply
      1. robin claire

        I KNEW that somehow, someway we were simpatico! You’re a recovering alcoholic too! And a Christian on top of it!!! How wonderful to meet you.
        robin claire

      2. Justin Post author

        Yep! I struggle being an alcoholic but God gives me strength and so much more to live for! Sometimes the only way to see the pure light and righteousness of God is to have been through utter darkness ourselves.

        For we were like sheep going astray, but have now returned to the Sheperd and Overseer of our souls! (1 Peter 2:25)

    1. Justin Post author

      Amen and thanks for commenting David. I remember the first time I came across 2 Cor 12:9. It is a continued lesson of humility realizing we are powerless sometimes to our weaknesses but through God all things are possible!

      Reply
  2. thesauros

    Nice! It’s such freedom to cast all our anxieties and worries and striving onto Jesus. He longs to take care of us. He longs to wrap us safely in His strong protective arms. Atheists see this as an admission of weakness. They’re right.

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      I like that last line you mentioned. It is humbling bringing our weaknesses to God but so refreshing at the same time knowing we don’t have to carry all the weight on our own! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Reply
  3. benabu

    Yes so was I at one point in my life, without Christ we are dead on the inside, life have no meaning without him. I can a test to that. God bless and thank you for visiting my blog and for your posts. Be blessed.

    Reply
      1. benabu

        I will remeber you in my prayers borther keep up the good work. We need each other in theses last days. And O yes I am happy to be apart of the family. My Christ richly keep you always in His favour

  4. Pingback: Without Jesus I can do nothing… « spiritualmanna4u

      1. fuzzlovefamily

        That is very true. My Aunt once went to jail because of the things she has done at the past, she didn’t hesitate because she knew she deserved it, while she was in jail she was always with God, oh scratch that, God was always with her, and from her story, her life in jail was hell, but with God, she got through those things. They had a bible study in jail and some prisoners came to Jesus. But the thing is, My Aunt went closer to God from her experience in jail. It doesn’t mean that you have to go to jail to find Jesus, it means that “When life hurts most, there is always Hope”, you just have to ‘Take Heart’…

Leave a Reply

