Why the name for this blog?

“I want to believe in God but I can’t.”

I typed this phrase into Google on my smartphone at a Christian retreat the day before I would end up getting baptized.  To no surprise the search results revealed people who just like myself wanted answers.  Many like me, were scavenging the internet searching for a greater purpose and meaning behind their life but could not wrap their heads around belief in God.   “It just doesn’t make sense!” I would say.  The unanswered questions piled high! “How could a loving God allow suffering?  Why is God so hard to find?  Why does God seem to reveal Himself to some people and not others?  Why is there murder and wars fought in the name of Christ?  Why are children molested by men who are supposed to be ambassadors for Christ?  Why are children starving all over the world?  Why are there people born with disease and mental handicaps? Why is life unfair? Why? Why? Why God?”

Wait a minute… Why am I talking to God if I “can’t” believe in Him?

You see, by saying “I want to believe in God” a part of me already did.  My intuition told me “I believe God is there” but my finite misunderstanding of God added the “but I can’t.”

Which side should I choose to believe?

Perhaps life makes perfect sense but we just aren’t meant to fully understand it?  Perhaps life is exactly as God intended it to be? Perhaps you’re reading this because every single step of your life has led you to this exact point in time?  Whatever way you decide to look at it, it’s true: Every single step of your life has led you to this exact point in time.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. –John 3:16

You now have a choice:

  1. Humble your intellect and your carnal instinct to have control over every aspect of your life and cry out to God, “Lord I believe, help my unbelief.”
  2. Deny what you sense to be truth because of your lack of understanding of that which is greater than you.

God does not force anyone to love Him or believe in Him, but that does not change the fact that He loves and believes in you.

Since that day I decided to put my faith in what I did not understand I have been learning something very important—how to love life!  How to love life as it actually is, not how I think it should be.  How to live now, here and for today!  How to have peace.  This is your life. . . Are you who you want to be?

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. -Matthew 7:7-8

So if you have stumbled upon this site by typing “I want to believe in God” I would tell you that you already have more faith than you think.  Happy seeking and may God bless you with peace that surpasses understanding!

-I Want To Believe In God [dot com]

11 thoughts on “Why the name for this blog?

  1. admin

    Love the questions that you had Justin. It is God to name your blog with the search term you used. Now seekers can find answers. This is our amazing God.

    Reply
  2. T

    This is so great! I know exactly what you mean I have been putting my faith in him for about 2 and a half years now and its just as you described when you said , “Since that day I decided to put my faith in what I did not understand I have been learning something very important—how to love life! How to love life as it actually is, not how I think it should be. How to live now, here and for today! How to have peace”
    Its amazing how he changes our perspectives and our lives when we follow Him and much more fun too 🙂

    Reply
  3. Stefan

    our whole life is a seeking, a quest, to find the answer. For this though, we need to be open. Like you were saying, the answer and the truth is out there, but are you willing to humble your intellect and accept a reasonable explanation? Are you willing to believe into something that surpasses your human understanding?

    I am so glad God made man with a human spirit, where man can contact God, receive God, and fellowship with God. If it were only our mind, we would be in utter discord and no one would actually listen to anything… But, God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truthfulness (John 4:24).

    Lord, keep us open! No matter what, no matter where, and no matter how – just keep us open to believe into You and receive You as the all-inclusive answer to our prayers and quests!

    Reply
  4. nopew

    I affirm what you say. Even if I understood all of life’s mysteries It wouldn’t allow me to have fun in the sun! If I had the final word on suffering I would still have bad days. If I had an intellect that could dialogue with the elite I doubt it would let me have more fun with my Grandchildren. Living is better than half answers – any day.

    Reply
  5. darknesstobrightness

    Peace be on you!

    It’s nice to see people being humble and trying to search and submit to the Lord of the Heavens and the Earth…

    I am a Muslim. I believe that Jesus (peace be on him) was a Messenger of God just like Noah, Abraham, Moses and Muhammad- who is the final messenger – peace be on them all.

    Jesus came with a message just like other messengers and that is to worship God Alone and not to take any creation as partners in worship. Unfortunately, many people fall into different types of worship of the creation. Some people take Prophets, righteous people as mediators. But our connection with God is direct and that’s the beauty of the relationship between the Creator and the creation.

    There is one phrase which Muslims repeat in their 5 daily prayers “Guide me to the straight path…”
    It’s God Alone who can guide us…what we need to do is…
    1. Reflect…look at the sky, the mountains, the unbelievable systematic rotation of heavenly bodies and the functioning of the human body etc…
    2. Seek His Guidance ” Oh God! Guide me….only You can guide me to the truth and keep me firm upon the truth.”
    3. Submit and Surrender…..
    Peace will fill your heart and mind, God willing…

    One of the scribes asked Jesus, Mark 12:28 “…Which is the first commandment of all?” Clearly from the question the man wanted to know the first of all commandments, and the most important one. Jesus replied to him in the following verse:

    And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord OUR God is ONE Lord. Mark 12:29

    “A certain ruler asked him: ‘Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?’
    ‘Why do you call me good?’ Jesus answered. ‘No one is good – except God alone.’”
    Luke 18:18-19 – NIV

    Interview with Eddie:

    Hope we’ll understand this beautiful message “There is only One God and Abraham, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad (peace be on them all) were messengers of God to guide humanity to worship God Alone the way He wants and not the way we want, so that He’ll admit us into Paradise where we will live for eternity with happiness and so that He will protect us from the punishment of Hell fire.

    What’s beautiful about sincere seekers of truth is that God guides them 🙂

    Have a good day!

    Peace be on you all!

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Peace to you my friend and thank you for stopping by. 🙂 With my walk I have learned the voice of the good Shepherd and He knows me. I do not know the voice of Muhammad or the voice of Noah, Abraham or Moses. I have read about them, but I do not know their voice. I have some scriptures that God gave me today after I read your post. If you want to explore them they are: John chapter 10, Ephesians chapter 3, Galatians chapter 5 and Psalm 23. God bless you and may His peace lead you to a grace filled abundant life.

      Reply
  6. mastersamwise23

    Very good insight about the crossroads we all find ourselves at in various times of our lives. May God bless you and if you get a chance to read my blog please do and tell me what you think. I am new to the blogging world!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

