Be Honest With Jesus

I love the fact that the more I get to know the Lord, the more He releases me to be comfortable in my own skin. He teaches me how to be me. He helps me let go of others standards and perceptions of me. He tells me that He loves me for being me. There’s something very important I’ve come to learn from this. Jesus wants us to be honest with ourselves.

He ultimately knows me better than I know myself. He knows if I’m not being completely honest with myself—even when being completely honest with myself involves doubting Him. He would rather I be honest and face any doubts I may have instead of putting on “fake faith.” God is secure in who He is. Our doubts do not intimidate Him or make Him any less true. If we are not honest with our doubts then I think we halt ourselves from growing in faith. They will remain buried and hidden in a dark spiritual closet. We must bring them to the light.

Since I have come to Christ I have brought many doubts to Him and He has helped me to move past them turning doubts into faith and weaknesses into strength. It’s ok to be honest with yourself. Bring your doubts to the altar and lay them at His feet. Ask God to give you the gift of faith.

Lord I believe, help my unbelief! –Mark 9:24

16 thoughts on “Be Honest With Jesus

  1. robin claire

    Hi Justin, Robin Claire here.
    I love the way you think!! Do you have a hard time loving like I do?
    I love to be really really real with Jesus. I think it helps keep the doors of communication open between us if I’m this way with Him. If I try to fake it with Him it’s just like trying to fake it with a friend. There’d be a communication break down between us. I’ve had a very hard life and He didn’t rescue me from the abuse I suffered as a child. As a result of this abuse, I developed an attachment disorder so I have a heck of a time loving Him back. I KNOW He loves the dickens out of me but I have almost no “warm” feelings for Him back. Isn’t that a bizarre way to be with God who is saving me? I can sense deeply His love for me in spite of my feelings for Him. This I know for a fact. His love for me is bigger than my dis-trust of Him. He doesn’t take any of my feelings “personally” you know? He doesn’t get angry with me either. He just loves, and loves, and loves on me. My hope for myself is that, one day, I will be healed enough (by Him) to give Him back the love He so deeply deserves. Why did He not rescue me from my childhood home; I wish I knew, but ever since I came to him for help, He has done everything for me to heal me from the abuse.
    Thank you again for a wonderful post.
    robin claire

    Reply
    1. nopew

      I am being presumptuous here, so please forgive me before I start (or after, as it suits). When I was a counselor I had a large percentage of clientele who were abuse victims (don’t know why since as a male that is highly unusual, but that’s another story). Victims learn to “disassociate”, close down emotions during the attacks in order to survive. It is a very good thing. Let’s also admit that God is a lot more powerful than you (us) and abuse is about power, and the victim feeling powerless. So you meet power, you use your survival technique. That’s the way it is, absolutely NO condemnation for it, at all, ever. Consider this, though, as powerful as Jesus is, is it not interesting that the power makes us feel powerful, over sin, over trouble, finding healing and strength to do things that only yesterday were impossible? Maybe you might start to see and image Jesus and divine power as positive for you. Why didn’t Jesus protect you long ago? That’s the emotional bomb. Without being trite, that’s what we are supposed to be for each other, God’s people protecting and helping God’s children. Somewhere the person called to do that for you didn’t say, “Yes”, and I apologize for them, truly. I am only suggesting that you might start letting Jesus make you “feel” powerful when with the Saviour one-on-one. Thanks to Justin for bringing this out in the open, and God bless you for opening up because of it. Again, I apologize for being so presumptuous since I do not know your story. Please accept this as a gift, and return it to the store if it doesn’t fit.

      Reply
    2. Justin Post author

      Robin your comment made me think of 1 John 4:19 “We love Him because He first loved us.” God’s love is more powerful than we could ever imagine so in comparison we are not capable at all of matching the love He gives to us back to Him. Only by Him changing us – as you mentioned – can we truly learn to love properly. Since God is love He is clearly the best teacher to show how to properly love someone. On a calendar in my house right now there is a quote that says “Love is above all the gift of oneself.” I agree with this and God showed His love by Jesus dying for us. You have given your life to the Lord and this shows your love for Him. You also have a clear strong passion to share His love with others – so again that shows your love for Him. I think you may love Him even more than you think! The fuzzy warm stuff is not always love. Often in human relationships the “warm” feelings you mentioned are simply infatuation. True love comes later.

      Reply
    3. Justin Post author

      One more thing.. I was reading Genesis this morning and this scripture stood out to me:

      “But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day.” (Gen 50:20)

      We will not ever fully understand why there is so much pain and suffering in our world but I pray that you could have Joseph’s mindset in looking at the past – that God can take the bad things which have happened and work them together for good for those who love Him. (Rom 8:28)

      Reply
      1. robin claire

        I think good things have come out of the bad stuff. I’m the only Christian in my family and it took a whole lot of pressure with an act of God to get me there.

  2. liliesinthefields

    Thanks for the post and your response Robin!

    I think what this is about is intimacy – allowing someone to really know us. Of course Jesus knows us already, but are we willing to let Him in? Sometimes it takes a long time to do so, if we’ve been badly hurt. But then we slowly learn that we can trust Him. We don’t have to hide, we can just be ourselves. And when we feel shame or guilt about who we are or what we’ve done, we can receive mercy and acceptance. I’ve had a few people say that I’m really ‘open’ to God and that’s a result of having really spent time with Him and allowed Him to work on me. Sometimes I feel like I want to close up again, but there’s always a way back.

    Reply
  3. Freedomborn

    How wonderful your honesty is Justin and like you there was a time that I faced my shortcommings and one of them was major doubts, I did share about it on my Blog but I will share again now for you.

    After coming to real heart repentance but because of so much conflicting teaching I felt very unsure about what was Truth and so had doubts. One day as I was reading the Scriptures a verse touched my heart, Mark 9:24 some Christians call this a Rhema Scripture, it said… that a man’s son was in need of healing and Jesus asked him do you believe, the man answered yes I believe but please help my unbelief and so I also asked Jesus to help my unbelief with great heart conviction that I needed His help.

    Not long after this, realizing I was very confused because of the conflicting teaching in the Churches and by Theologians and Evangelists even those who had a high profile and yes they all claimed what they believed was True but what some taught was different which means some of them were trusting in their own worldly understanding or what they had been taught instead of God’s Truth.

    I knew this to be True because The Holy Spirit does not say one thing to one person and something different to someone else when it contradicts and as I knew we are not to agree to disagree but to take our difference to God and He will show us who is in error because we are to have the same focus and to be of one mind and purpose, it confused me greatly because how could they all have the mind of Christ and also be in conflict which was shown by their division our God is a God of Unity and Truth.

    I prayed to God earnestly for His help again and He gave me another Rhema Scripture James1:5-8 I asked in Trust and Faith knowing I needed God’s wisdom 100% and I have no doubts that I have received it and that my heart is growing in knowledge and insight and will continue to do so as He perfects me in His Love to conform me to the image of His Son. What God has shared with me He has confirmed in His written word by His Living Word but as I said before I’m still learning but I know without a doubt what God has already shown me is His Truth and I don’t doubt it …. Jesus tells us we don’t have because we don’t ask with Faith believing what He says He will do and sadly I found this is very True for many years after I started to seek God but wonderfully I found Him He is Love and can do no evil.

    Thank you for letting me share Justin and may you be greatly Blessed.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Hi Anne,

      Thanks for sharing your story. Both parts of scripture you mentioned (“Lord help my unbelief” of Mark 9 and “the double minded man” mentioned in James) the Lord has spoken to me greatly through and often still is. You are on a great path in really seeking out God’s will and going directly to Him with your questions on different teachings. I try to keep myself humble in the “gray areas” of interpretation with scripture. The enemy loves to cause division in the church from doctrine wars. My mom wrote on this issue in her book “The Key To His Heart” You can read an excerpt here:

      http://cindypowell.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/the-key-to-his-heart-excerpt-two-sides-same-coin/

      Let me know what you think if you have a chance to read.

      God bless 🙂

      Reply
  4. Freedomborn

    I just read some of your responses to others Justin, they were just as honest and filled with God’s Love and Truth, thank you for the Joy you bring to others through your words, they are heart filled , I thank The Lord that our lives touched.

    Much Love in The Lord from both of us – Anne.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Where Do You Live? « Janiese Reveals His Heart

Leave a Reply

