Redeemed, Forgiven, Healed

cottage

Be still and know that I am God. –Psalm 46:10

Repressed emotions from our past create strongholds and strongholds often burry themselves deep within us to the point that we become accustomed to them and deny that they are even there.

I try to stay away from step ladders when talking about the things of God but the Lord showed me this today – that many of us understand how through Christ we have been redeemed but because of strongholds (which we may be in denial of) we fail to accept forgiveness and we do not enter the Lord’s rest and healing. This can be both failure on our part to accept His forgiveness of our sins, to forgive ourselves of our own sin and to forgive others of their sin. There’s a reason James wrote:

“…if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed.” –James 5:15-16

If you’ve struggled to find healing, freedom or breakthrough then today I’d like to encourage you to stop struggling. Your striving is exhausting you. The main reason I don’t like step ladders is because we say, “I’ve done all the steps and still see no breakthrough.” I think the answer lies in that statement… You’ve done all the steps. We have to stop, be still and let the Lord take over.

I think He’s sometimes like a father watching his child try again and again to reach the cookie jar that is beyond the child’s reach. Once the child finally gives up, the father says, “Here, let me get that for you.”

This is a word from the Lord today for myself and for some of you as well. Jesus is saying, “Can I try now?”

Selah.

Invite Him into those deep vulnerable places that you may not even know exist. Ask Him why you struggle with the things you do and be humble in accepting His response.

We don’t heal ourselves. The key is in Psalm 46:10 “Be still.”

The Hebrew word translated as “still” is râphâh which is a double meaning word in Hebrew. Scholars agree that in this Psalm it is meant to be translated as abate, cease or consume [still] but the other meaning of the word is to mend, to cure or to heal.

Stop striving and give the Lord a turn. Be healed and know that He is God.

5 thoughts on “Redeemed, Forgiven, Healed

  1. iggandfriends

    Thank you for this. It reminded me of something I learnt a long time ago – the Hebrew word is also expressed in the imperative in that passage – it’s not meant to an option, but an instruction. So I guess I’ll try and obey it again!

    Reply
  2. robin claire

    Hi Justin,
    Just a note to let you know I thoroughly enjoyed this post. Haven’t heard from you in a while. Whatcha been up to lately?
    love to you my friend,
    robin claire

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Hi Robin!
      I’ve been pretty busy settling into our new living situation in Redding CA. Finally got some Internet hooked up and am able to blog again. God is good! Much love to you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

