What is grace to you?

redding sunset 2

Where sin abounded, grace abounded much more. –Romans 5:20

Grace… I don’t think any of us fully understand it.  Some certainly more than others, but I don’t think we have the ability to fully grasp God’s grace.  It’s completely undeserved but we are taught to accept it.  With accepting it we are taught not to take advantage of it.  And with not taking advantage of it we are taught that we cannot earn it.  I think the best understanding of God’s grace is to know that it is completely driven by love.  But then we would have to understand love, and we can only understand love from what love we have experienced ourselves.

I read a blog last night that talked about keeping our hunger in balance with our thankfulness.  If either one is not in proper balance with the other we have a problem.   With too much hunger and not enough thankfulness we become dissatisfied.  With too much thankfulness and not enough hunger we become stagnant.

I was convicted by this because I don’t think I’ve been thankful enough lately.  I’ve been plenty hungry but not thankful enough—and I am repenting of this.  I believe my lack of thankfulness is because I do not understand His grace well enough.

So today I just want to make it a point to openly thank God for the amazing grace He has shown me, and the favor He has put on my life.  Thank you Jesus!

What does His grace mean to you?

4 thoughts on “What is grace to you?

  1. nopew

    My brain can’t explain God’s great kindness (grace), but I experience it. I live to see the discipline of love grow (unconditional, sometimes inconvenient and rooted in deep compassion rather than economic returns). Not there yet, but ALWAYS good to get inspired to keep open to God’s working in us, and our living in response to divine kindness. Grace and peace to you with gratitutde!

    Reply
  2. Chris Jordan

    I just started a series at our church this past Sunday morning in the book of Galatians, focusing on the topic of GRACE – exploring it, discussing it, and looking at how we can experience more of it in our lives. So many Christians don’t understand His grace, and its a topic we could spend the rest of our lives studying!

    Reply
  3. jdedeusbrasil

    I have been able to experience God’s grace in my life so many times that my faith has grown stronger and stronger over the years. I sincerely hope you will achieve your goals. God bless you and yours!

    Reply
  4. angelradams

    I didn’t really even understand God’s grace until just a few months ago. Seriously. I was doing and doing and wondering how much was enough. Then someone told me – sweetie…you don’t have to do anything to receive God’s grace. It’s done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

