Secret Revelation

Isaiah 60:20

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
-Psalm 91:1

At the turn of the New Year the Lord gave me that verse and told me that 2013 would be a year of finding the secret place.

So what is “the secret place” talked about here?

For a long time I just thought of the secret place as our prayer closet because Jesus said shut your door, and pray to your Father who is in the secret place…  But I’ve come to realize that the secret place is so much more than just a prayer closet.

The secret place is our very personal divine relationship with God.   But here’s where we mess up a lot—my secret place is going to be different from your secret place and not everything that God tells me in my secret place is meant to be given to others…  That’s why it’s a secret.   He will often give us secret revelation.

So how do we know what’s secret and what’s for others?  We’ll the first thing to do is ask the Lord but one way to know it’s secret revelation is when the things He has shown you are inexpressible.   Paul when talking about his third heaven vision in 2 Corinthians chapter 12 said that he heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter.  Paul had been given secret revelation.

Have you ever read over a verse that you know speaks to your spirit?  Where it jumps off the page at you and moves you in a certain way?  But then you read it again and realize you don’t even intellectually understand the verse completely?  Or maybe the verse is so simple like “Be still and know that I am God” but yet at the same time it’s so profound that you wouldn’t be able to explain how much it means to you to someone else?   It’s because the Lord has given you secret revelation and often times these things cannot be expressed.  They can’t be expressed because they are between you and the Lord and if you tried to explain it to someone else it probably wouldn’t make a whole lot of sense to them.

The Lord told me recently that He is releasing a wave of secret revelation to those who are hungry and those who want it.  It’s the cry of His heart to be closer with His children and that’s what this is really about.  It’s about sharing feelings with the Lord and letting Him speak to us in new ways.   It’s about just sitting with Him in His presence and sharing a moment of silence.  It’s about listening more than speaking and it’s about putting away your shopping list of prayer requests and asking Him what He wants you to pray for.

He is saying, “I will give you the treasures of darkness and hidden riches of secret places.” –Isaiah 45:3

Ask God what He wants to show you.  Ask Him to take you deeper into the secret place of His presence.

Arise, shine; for your light has come! And the glory of the Lord is risen upon you. -Isaiah 60:1

11 thoughts on “Secret Revelation

  1. Chris Jordan

    At our church, I’m just finishing up a series in the Book of Galatians, but we’re just getting ready to head into a series on the topic of prayer. Your post today caught my attention because my first session is going to be all about the secret place… I agree with you that God is getting ready to reveal Himself to those who are hungry for more of Him – amen!

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      That’s awesome Chris! I hope youll post a few blog posts as you go through the series. Have you read Experiencing The Depths of Jesus Christ? It’s an amazing little book written by Madame Guyon in the 17th century on deep prayer. I’ve been reading it and it has been quite profound and helpful in expanding my understanding of the secret place.

      Reply
      1. Chris Jordan

        Justin,
        I haven’t read that particular book, though I have read some other authors who have quoted her stuff. Do you know if that book is available online? And yes, I will most likely be posting/sharing some of what I’m learning in the weeks to come! Blessings…

      2. Justin Post author

        I ordered a paperback copy through Christianbook.com but I am pretty sure it’s available in Kindle form. I look forward to reading and following along through the series! 🙂

  2. nopew

    I believe that this is exactly what Jesus implied in Matthew 5:8 (NLB), “God blesses those whose hearts are pure for they will see God”. Such “seeing” goes way beyond human eyes, and you have expressed that well here. It is such a close relationship with God that we dialogue in ways that go beyond words and which honour our uniqueness and which open us to the glory that is God. And so much more. God’s love for us makes such things possible, to live with and for Jesus “closer than” kin, and that’s no secret.

    Reply
  3. thethinkingofthoughts2013

    I love what you shared. Having just read one of those very anti-Religion blogs and wondering how you even begin to argue with opinions like that, it is so refreshing to read someone whose passion for God is heart based instead of head based and you are so right about testimony and personal experience – no one can argue successfully against another person’s experience. It fascinates me how such people blame God for humanities mistakes! Anyway that’s my rant.
    Thanks so much for sharing. I really needed to read this tonight.

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I’ve been overwhelmed and frustrated by some of the anti-God blogs too. I struggle to understand their motives. I don’t think they realize that faith to some people is their last ounce of hope in this life. I don’t see why anyone would put forth effort to try to take away hope. God bless and I hope you stop by again. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Santiago Harvey

    When Jesus speaks of going into a secret closet to seek the Father, He is talking about something much greater than a physical closet. The Old Testament tells us God divided His people into two categories: “Those who sought Me – and those who sought Me not!” And God has two kinds of children today as well – those who regularly seek Him in their secret closet of prayer, and those who do not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

