Good World > Bad World

Philippians 4:11-13

Good World > Bad World

Optimism:
1 : a doctrine that this world is the best possible world
2 : an inclination to put the most favorable construction upon actions and events or to anticipate the best possible outcome

Pessimism:
1 : an inclination to emphasize adverse aspects, conditions, and possibilities or to expect the worst possible outcome
2 : the doctrine that reality is essentially evil

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:  I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. –Philippians 4:11-13

With God renewing my mind He has taught me to view the glass as half full.  He wants us to see the good in life.  Which actually means He wants us to find Him in life… yes, in this world.  He wants us to become so optimistic that everywhere we go we are filled with the presence of God and literally bring goodness with us into a room and change the atmosphere.

Lord today I choose to be an optimist.  I choose to see the good in this world.  I choose to be rooted and grounded in love; and I choose this because of the reality of your love which you have shown to me. 

Without the love of God in my life I tried to be an optimist but it was hard—it was honestly a lot of work.  But with the love of God, He makes it easy.  With the love of God I’ve realized that this world is far more perfect than I had ever thought or imagined.

May your minds be renewed today to see the good in this life:

Which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. –Colossians 1:27

 

3 thoughts on “Good World > Bad World

  1. rainingtruth

    I see the beauty which Our Father has created each day, but I also see the evil and deception that the enemy has imparted upon this world. My optimism rises way high knowing what the world is going to be in the end.

    Reply
    1. Don

      Yes, there is both the good of creation and the corruption from the enemy. In addition, there is a third realm – the unseen, eternal things (2 Cor 4:18), the mystery of Christ (e.g. Eph 3:4, 9), things only revealed through the Spirit (1 Cor 4:10).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

