Back on the Wagon

Hello everyone,

I haven’t written in a while so I wanted to give you a quick update and ask for your prayers.

If you’ve followed my blog for a while you may know that I’ve struggled with alcohol abuse for many years of my life. I’ve had a couple periods of sobriety, both times lasting almost up to a year but then I relapse and fall back into the trap.

For the last 9 months or so I have been falling farther and farther into the pit of alcoholism. I’ve lied to myself thinking I can control it in moderation but the truth is I can’t.

Late last month I came to the conclusion that I needed help so I signed up for an inpatient rehabilitation center and have been here for the past 18 days.

It has been an emotional roller coaster of ups and downs but I am doing good. Our schedule here is quite busy, so not only has it been emotionally draining but physically as well. I’ll be here for about 25 more days and then it’s back to the real world.

Gods love and deliverance has definitely been doing a mighty work in my heart and I’ve been journaling all that He’s showing me as I’m here. I plan to do a blog series following my return home but for now I humbly ask for your prayers and blessings.

Thanks for reading and God bless.

-Justin

Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

-Philippians 3:12-14

18 thoughts on “Back on the Wagon

  1. Elisha

    You are so bold and courageous for seeking treatment. I know that Poppa God is looking down on you with all smiles! He loves you just as you are! To Him, you are His precious gem, shining so bright.

    While reading your post I remembered this verse and I know He wants you to read it, write it down and hold it close to you at all times. It is Zephaniah 3:17 which says, “The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.”

    Stay strong! You got this! xo

    Reply
  2. Pure Glory

    Justin, congratulations for getting up and seeking treatment. When reading your post I was reminded of Proverbs 24:16: The godly may trip seven times, but they will get up again. But one disaster is enough to overthrow the wicked. You are godly and are rising again. God is your help and strength. You will do better this time.

    Reply
  3. nopew

    I had wondered where you are, but in blogging I can’t come over to the house and see what is going on. I would just say that where you are is the real world. Paul spent three years in the desert to re-learn spirituality after his conversion. Priscilla and Aquila spent time training Barnabas. Jesus spent three years transforming the disciples. Moses was 40 years unlearning Egyptian. Transformation is very real, no matter where it happens or how long it takes.
    Peace

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Yes, it definitely is a learning process and I’ll be stronger and able to help others because of my troubles. God bless my friend.

      Reply
  4. LightWriters

    Because he loves Me, I will rescue him…Psalm 91:14. God bless as you trust, love, depend and lean more closely upon His rescuing, delivering, saving grace!

    Reply
  5. gospelofbarney

    My prayers for you in this most difficult of struggles – keep reaching out for help and hold on to Christ.

    Reply
  6. Deb Hill

    Justin, thanks so much for sharing. This is huge for your life. My prayers for you are that you continually discover the divinity within yourself. I do believe in God and I believe Christ came to show us, as a living example, of who we really are. I pray you step into your true expression of God’s divine love on this planet and that heart-healing comes your way. I wonder if once your heart is healed – perhaps you will be able to maintain sobriety. Either way – I love you.

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Hi Deb, thank you for your prayers and encouragement! I do believe God is healing my heart. I’ve realized as long as I abide in His love then sobriety is delivered. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

