God Corrects Those He Loves

In seeking the Lord recently I have been asking in prayer to have the mind of Christ and for the Holy Spirit to correct my wrong thinking. One way God has been doing this is by showing me what certain scriptures do not say.

The first verse He did this with was Hebrews 12:1 where He told me it says, “run the race with endurance, not speed.”

Today He has corrected me in what it doesn’t mean when we are “looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith” (Heb 12:2) and when we are “pressing toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” (Phil 3:14).

It doesn’t mean that you get so focused on Jesus that you take your eyes off of those around you.

For everyone looks out for their own interests, not those of Jesus Christ. (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭21‬ NIV)

To have our eyes fixed on Christ is to share the mind of Christ which is:

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭3-7‬ NIV)

I will confess in many things I can be very selfish, even in spiritual things. I get so caught up in what I think I need to be doing that I often miss the needs of others around me. I’m so focused on the prize that I blaze right past people standing around me that need a hand.

Thank you Lord for revealing this and I ask that by Your power I be awakened to have the mind of Christ. I ask for a supernatural humility and the ability to be your hands and feet reaching out to the least of these whom you love so dearly.

2 thoughts on “God Corrects Those He Loves

  1. lampyadam

    May God bless you on your journey and continue to correct you 😊I think at times we all forget this every now and again, but with the lord on our side we will make it through

    Reply

Leave a Reply

