“Where are you Lord?”

And you shall remember that the Lord your God led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness, to humble you and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not. So He humbled you, allowed you to hunger, and fed you with manna which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord. –Deuteronomy 8:2-3

Have you been going through a time of struggle and hardship in your walk with God?  Has your faith been tested leaving you in trial and temptation so that you cry out, “Where are you Lord? I need you!”  If so, this is probably exactly where God wants you.  

Immediately after Jesus was baptized the Holy Spirit drove Him into the wilderness where He was tempted for forty days.  What’s significant about this is that Jesus had to go through this process before He could start His ministry.  This was not an easy time for Him.  He was tempted, hungry, humbled, and completely dependent on the word of God to overcome Satan.

Matthew 4:3-4 says:

Now when the tempter came to Him, he said, “If You are the Son of God, command that these stones become bread.”

But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’”

He quoted the words that Moses had said about God teaching the Israelites while in the wilderness to be dependent on Him.

If you are in a time of wilderness in your walk with God then rejoice in your trial because God is teaching you something.  He is preparing you so that you might be useful for a greater purpose.   So embrace this trial and run the race with endurance, looking unto Jesus!  Give God all the glory through this process because it’s not about you. Perhaps that’s what God is teaching you.  John the Baptist said it best, He must increase, but I must decrease.”

17 thoughts on ““Where are you Lord?”

  1. meetingintheclouds

    In 53 years of knowing, loving and serving my heavenly Father, through the Lord Jesus, He has never left me alone. Yes, I have drifted from Him at times, running ahead of His plans or lagging behind, but He has never left me to my own devices. He has gently brought me back to Himself.

    What an amazing God!

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      Amen! That is very encouraging. I’m so thankful that He is a God of patience and everlasting agape love! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jason

    “I will bring you into the wilderness”

    **I will bring you into the wilderness of the nations, and there I will judge you face to face** I will judge you there just as I did your ancestors in the wilderness after bringing them out of Egypt, says the Sovereign Lord. I will examine you carefully and hold you to the terms of the covenant. I will purge you of all those who rebel and revolt against me. I will bring them out of the countries where they are in exile, but they will never enter the land of Israel. Then you will know that I am the Lord.

    Ezekiel 20:35-38 NLT

    “I have hidden your word in my heart”
    Psalm 119:9-11

    Reply
  3. Alessandro

    As the israelites died in the wilderness, all but 2, i guess we should also die, at least the natural man. I understand why it is necesary. I am really so far of being able to fullfill the least of what he demands, My self is governed by so many other things that are not him, death of the self is the only way, rebirth with Crist is the only way of living. I haven´t been there yet……

    Reply
    1. Justin Post author

      I agree. The Lord is teaching you humility. A hard lesson learned but very important. Your old self already died when you accepted Christ! Don’t be too hard on yourself and remember that Jesus is equally yoked with you.

      Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth. (Matthew 5:5 NKJV)

      Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 3:12-14 NKJV)

      Reply
  4. robinclaire

    … rejoice in your trial because God is teaching you something. He is preparing you so that you might be useful for a greater purpose.
    Man!! I hope this is true. I need it to be true! Thank you for writing this.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: God Has Not Left You! | iwanttobelieveingod

  6. gospelofbarney

    I am in the process of decreasing daily, sadly due to my stroke, but there is still work to do before I head home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

