The Gift of Peace

This Christmas Eve there’s a word that has a new meaning in my life.  I have always known the definition of this word but I have never truly understood it.  This word is peace.

Jesus said: “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give.” (John 14:27)

This Christmas I have a new found peace in my heart that I did not have last year.  I say a new “found” peace but I was not looking for it.  The truth is I didn’t think I needed peace.  The truth is I thought I was doing just fine.  For many years I celebrated Christmas and viewed it as a good time to get together with family.  I would usually go attend a church service because it was the traditional thing to do and it made my mom happy.  I knew that Christmas represented the birth of Jesus, but I was more interested in many other things than religion and really didn’t put too much thought into it.  I was content with not knowing what I believed.   I was your average American just trying to get by in life one day at a time.

Then something happened, something I cannot easily explain.  Something supernatural, unexpected and not of this world happened—peace found me.  Jesus found me.  We often hear the phrase “found Jesus” but this is not correct.  Yes, I made the decision to take a step of faith and dedicate my life to Jesus, but it was by the power of the Holy Spirit which reveals truth that I made this decision.  The Spirit of God awakened me to the truth and it was like a light bulb that came on.  A beautiful life giving light!

Jesus said: “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”  (John 8:12) 

I never realized how much in the dark I was until I was walking in the light.  I think this is the problem with so many people.  So many of us just accept life as it is and think “well I guess this is the best it gets.”  I urge you to not settle.  There is a longing in all of us to seek truth.  God places this longing in us.  I believe this is the power of the Holy Spirit which sparks our desire to seek God.  Follow it.  Open your heart.  Let Jesus find you.

Jesus said: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with me.” (Rev 3:20) 

So this Christmas Eve I have a new peace in my heart and for this I rejoice and say: Praise the Lord!  Although, with this peace comes a new restlessness—many of my friends and family remain in the dark.  I see suffering with a new compassion now.  I must spread the light!  I am a walking testimony that there is joy in Christ!  Jesus lives!! Peace is knocking at the door and all you need to do is answer it.  So this Christmas I pray that you would get the best gift anyone could ever give you—the gift of everlasting life, hope, peace, joy and love.  This gift the Father offers us through the sacrifice of his son Jesus Christ.  This gift is offered to us for free because the price has already been paid.  All you need to do is take a step of faith and open the door.  So what are you waiting for?

Merry Christmas everyone!

-Justin

3 thoughts on “The Gift of Peace

  1. Cindy

    Welcome to “the peace that passes understanding”–isn’t it glorious? Isn’t HE glorious? Keep praying for those who are still walking in darkness–I look at you and it is a reminder to me of just how faithful God is to hear those prayers. So, so blessed that this year, you can truly celebrate CHRISTmas! (And btw, as grateful as I was that you went to church on Christmas eve to make me happy, I’m much, much happier now that I know you WANT to go :-)) Merry Christmas, honey. Love you ❤

    Reply
  2. STEPHEN L. MEREDITH

    Hello: Reading some of your post and find that it is not the (AKJV) which I am familiar with.

    I would like to know from which version of the bible these verses are from?

    Here is a link to a free encyclopedia about the (AKJV) that I like and use

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Authorized_King_James_Version

    In this post you used this verse
    Jesus said: “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give.” (John 14:27)

    This is the same verse from the (KJV)
    John 14:27
    Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

    Revelation 22:18,19 Tells me that man should not add or take away from the words of from the words of this prophecy. Which applies to the book of Revelation. My question then is should this also apply to all of God’s Word?

    There must be an agreement on earth ! Do these verses agree?

    God bless, Stephen

    Reply
    1. iwanttobelieveingod Post author

      Hi Stephen,

      The verse I used here is from the New Living Translation (NLT). I should probably notate the bible translations used. Sorry for any confusion. I probably like the NKJV the best but often use the NLT, NIV or ESV as well. Any Bible in the English language is a translation and never 100% accurate to the original Hebrew or Greek meaning so I often read the same scripture from multiple translation versions. I hope to study Hebrew and Greek one day but until then I’ll continue to use multiple translations. Below is some info on the NLT-

      NLT Version Information:

      The goal of any Bible translation is to convey the meaning of the ancient Hebrew and Greek texts as accurately as possible to the modern reader. The New Living Translation is based on the most recent scholarship in the theory of translation. The challenge for the translators was to create a text that would make the same impact in the life of modern readers that the original text had for the original readers. In the New Living Translation, this is accomplished by translating entire thoughts (rather than just words) into natural, everyday English. The end result is a translation that is easy to read and understand and that accurately communicates the meaning of the original text

      Reply

Leave a Reply

